Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Choosing out of my HDDs for video capture? (cache size)

  1. #1

    Default Choosing out of my HDDs for video capture? (cache size)

    Hello,

    I recently bought a new HDD for both added capacity and added speed for my computer. My original HDD was a 7200RPM drive with a 2mb cache. The new drive is 7200RPM with an 8mb cache. My question is whether I should set up my computer to capture to the drive with a larger cache or is it better to have the operating system run with the larger cache. My question is specifically geared to firewire video capture. I am aware that obvioulsy the operating system would work faster if it was on the 8mb cache but I am happy enough with the current speed and really just want to optimize to make capture and smooth as possible. Thanks very much!

    Thomas

  2. #2

    Default

    If you want to make capture as smooth as possible, you should go with the 8MB drive.

  3. #3

    Default

    I am a bit confused by your reply. I will be using both drives... One for the OS and one to capture to. When you say go with the 8mb do you mean use it as the HDD for the OS or the "capture to" drive? Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Reckon he meant for capture

  5. #5

    Default

    Yes, I did. I should have been more clear in my reply.

Similar Threads

  1. need help on choosing Capture card
    By Duke Nukem in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 02:43 AM
  2. Assistance with choosing a laptop 4 video editing
    By gaston55 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 02:52 PM
  3. frame size capture problem
    By sam in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-25-2006, 12:18 PM
  4. Basic help required: Capture video screen size in Prem 6.5
    By McBrain in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 01:24 AM
  5. Adobe Pre 6.0 Limit on file capture size.
    By Mike777 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-22-2004, 01:21 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •