Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: getting video off tape (Sony HDRHC3)?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Angry getting video off tape (Sony HDRHC3)?

    hey guys, ill give you a quick intro to myself and my skill. ive been editing footage that has allready been taken (eg. footage of cars, racing, drag racing, martial arts ect) and putting them together with music ect.. and i just recently purchased a Sony HDRHC3, which is a PAL, mini dv tape camera that records on HDV 1080i as well as DV.

    i have a firewire card connected and installed, my camera knows when ilink is connected. my computer knows my camera is connected (only in DV mode.. not HDV mode)

    and i have various film editing programs on my computer... im having the most difficulty in getting my film off my tape onto my computer... ?

    can anyone get me on the right track here?

    EDIT: i should add, that when my camera is connected to the computer via ilink only in DV mode, when i try to capture, it just shows what the camera sees...
    Last edited by Suzmo; 08-14-2006 at 03:55 PM.

  2. Default

    it sounds as though you need to put the camera into play mode not record mode

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    ummm? play mode ay. let me see.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    i failed to find such modes in my instruction manual ....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Try playback mode, VCR mode, in fact any setting other than record mode or camera mode.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    www.bits-uk.com/images/SonyHDR_HC3.jpg

    Toggle the switch around the record button until the indicator for play/edit comes on.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    oh yes, how silly of me.... ok got that working but now... i get an error when i actually try to capture my tape automatically.. ive tryed windows movie maker, a demo version of adobe premiere, umm full version of video studio basic.. and some other one...

    ive got the ilink converter on so it goes from HDV -> DV, umm DV video, 16bit audio on 16:9 ratio... this is pissing me off

    :( someone point me in the right direction. thank you in advance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Why does it piss you off? Do you want 4:3?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    hehe, nah not that, the fact i cant get my footage onto my computer

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    ahh sorry about this guys, but i worked it out... i needed to restart my computer.. and unplug the ilink.. turn cam off then put it all together again (cords and turn power on) and it worked.. cheers.. guys, hehe. im a fair noob at the moment.

Similar Threads

  1. video tape download to pc
    By paul8h in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-25-2007, 10:48 PM
  2. New Video - Still Hot from the tape reels!
    By Pineriver in forum User Videos
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 01:09 PM
  3. Sony Handycam, burn from tape
    By NashTax in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-2006, 10:47 AM
  4. Unable to Print to Tape using Sony Vegas and Sony Handicam
    By yroy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-18-2005, 12:49 PM
  5. Video tape repair.
    By Mike Thorpe in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-17-2004, 06:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •