Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Problems with Vegas Video and Premier 6.0 compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default Problems with Vegas Video and Premier 6.0 compatibility

    We are editing Video using Vegas Video 4, and printing to tape for a client. We took the tape over to his studio, and he is using a Sony camera to import into Premier 6.0 via firewire and it is messing up. Looks like dropped frames. Yet, if he exports from tape / camera via analog, the signal is fine (although poorer quality).

    Any ideas why this is happening? Is there a possible incompatibility between the two programs, or a setting we are missing on Vegas Video?

    thanks a LOT!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Tell the client to defragment his harddrive.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I think we have found a solution. We ended up re-encoding the avi product through adobe premier on our computer, then printed to tape from premier. Took a little time, but we think it will work. Still have to take the re-recored tape back over to him, but since it is Easter, I don't think it will be until tomorrow.

    We prefer Vegas Video for editing, so at least this gives us a way to provide a product he can use too. Normally, we edit start to finish and provide the finished product for the web, so it doesn't matter that we use Vegas Video, but this time he has more work he has to do on it, and he does not own Vegas Video. It was really stumping us. It would play perfect in the camera, but would be a mess on the input into the computer.

    I'll update my profile too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,514
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I doubt very much it's a compatibility issue - when you export to tape you're just doing exactly that: recording to tape. I may be wrong here, but I don't think you've done anything differently by using a different application.

    Then again, I've been wrong before and I'll be wrong again! I just really think it's the fact that your client's hard disks are in a bad way - check out past posts to see the amount of times dropped frames have been due to a badly fragmented drive!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, USA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Well We think you are right on the defrag. We pulled the tape into our system it was fine, his jumpy. We checked it out, and his hard drive was 47% fragmented, and 90+% of his files were fragmented.

    So he is currently running defrag, and I have a feeling that will do the trick.

    Thanks guys!

Similar Threads

  1. Simple Video Editing and Compatibility
    By Doctor Trout in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 06:22 PM
  2. Best video output for most compatibility of users
    By uwrazor in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 11:23 PM
  3. vegas video capture and edit problems
    By twpiawn in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2005, 03:39 PM
  4. Importing problems with premier pro...
    By ToastMan in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-15-2004, 08:26 PM
  5. adobe premier audio problems..
    By route66 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2003, 11:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •