Thread: Be gentle Its my first time

Kilbirnie Ayrshire

Wink Be gentle Its my first time

These are the results of my VERY first attempt at videography
    I bought the kit seen below last year as I was getting bored with retirement and finding some thing to do (Heading towards 69 yrs ) I've never owned a Vidcam before so I've been on a upward learning curve all the way
    Credits go to Crusty for explaining how to get stills from Photoshop CS to Nero VE 3 also to Marc Peters for putting me right on closing titles -- I spent a lot of time decideing who to mention and who to omit ( Fade to black Marc said ) Worked out Nice
    I had a problem shooting the vid as I was always in the wrong place at the wrong time -- There was no rehearsal as the Groom was serving in Germany with the USA forces -- It was my niece's wedding and I was also a guest and
    was declared the official videographer?? I could only do my best with the little knowledge I have of film making

Here are a Couple of clips for your criticism

You've gotta laugh!!!
    My Kit

AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
    2 - 250gb Seagate H.Ds Raid Stripe
    ATI/EQS Deluxe Motherboard
    ATI Radeon Sapphire PCI800 256mb Graphics
    NEC DVD RW 3540A Dual Layer/Format
    16x48 Dvd Rom
    Serial ATA
    19\" TFT 12ms Screen
    Windows XP Pro
    Canon XM2 Camcorder
    Nikon D50 DSLR Photoshop CS / Elements 3
    Nero 6 Vision Express Editing
    Premiere elements 2.0

I am definitely no expert in video making, so take this post with a grain of salt.

I thought the title sequence in the first clip was just a little bit on the long side. If it were me doing it, I would have made the text travel a bit faster. Each title seemed to be about 15 seconds long; I would shrink that down to 8-10 seconds per title.