Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: help??capturing using s-video??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    Default help??capturing using s-video??

    hey, i know you guys will probably hate me for asking this, but, im a high school student studying Film and Television, my brother recently gave me a computer with Premiere 6.0 on it, but the thing is the video card i currently have only has S-video ( not firewire etc.) i use a Sony mini-Dv digital handycam ( DCR-TRV15E model). i was just wondering if there was a way to capture footage in Premiere using an S-video connection.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I suspect that you are not (sadly) going to win with your current setup. Premiere is looking for digital input via yor camer's iLink (or firewire) port.
    S-video is an anlogue port. Also, a shame about the camera. From memory, the 15 does not have a2d passthru either.

    I think you'll need an analog-2-digital convertor to win with this one.

    Alternatively, if you have a free PCI clot then you can pick up a firewire card for less than 20 UKP and then do the job properly making the best use of your camera Actaully this is botha better and cheaper solution i think.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2

    Default

    thanks for your help millsy.

    another question, i was wondering if there was another program i could use to capture using S-video, and then could i import into Premiere? or is there a computer program that can turn anolouge into digital?

    thanks again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    766

    Default

    are you sure your video card does svideo IN?

    nearly all cards these days do OUT, but not so many do in.

    If yours does do in, get IUvcr or nandub and capture from it with those.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Campina Grande - PB, Brazil
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Once you confirmed that it's actually a SVHS-IN (wich I doubt) then you should go to www.virtualdub.org and download VirtualDub, a great piece of video editing/conversion software that also has a very good capture mode.

Similar Threads

  1. Video capturing
    By BrokenImage in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 01:08 AM
  2. Capturing video in s video in Premiere Elements
    By thethud in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2006, 01:55 AM
  3. Vegas Video 6.0d Freezes when Capturing HD video (Sony Hc-1)
    By Valrio in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 03:30 AM
  4. Quality problem capturing / burning video with Video Studeo
    By sanman in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-04-2005, 09:36 AM
  5. Need help with Capturing Video
    By Chrisallstar in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-08-2004, 10:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •