Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Athlon 64s and Avid, Adobe Aftereffects & premiere.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    8

    Default Athlon 64s and Avid, Adobe Aftereffects & premiere.

    I am pretty sure about this, but I thought I'd get a reply from some experts first, just to justify my stance.

    I intend to build a system for a company which makes falconry videos.

    Current spec:

    AMD Athlon 64bit 3400+ 754pin/1Mb L2cache Retail Boxed with 3 Year Warranty CPU
    300
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=58432

    MSI K8T Neo-FIS2R SKT 754 K8T800 8x AGP GB LAN 1394,S-ATA RAID 6CH Sound - 90
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=52178

    1.5GB DDR Kingston PC3200 RAM CL2 - 185 for 1GB + 85 for 512mb<basically 3 x 512mb sticks>
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=50358

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=52788

    Western Digital WD2500JD 250GB 8mb Cache 7200rpm Serial ATA - OEM - 150
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=50033

    DVD Burner Dual R/RW Plextor 8x DVD DUAL R/RW IDE BLACK BURNER - Retail Box -110
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=52651

    Nvidia GeForce FX 5950 256mb DDR, VIVO - 290
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=59666


    Chieftec BX-01Extreme Black Atx Case With No PSU - 35
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=55641

    PSU Qtec 550W - 25
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=34825

    Chic Office Keyboard PS/2 Black - 4.63
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=49648

    Chic 1330 Optical Mouse 3.88
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=42130

    Total: 1388.51 including VAT

    We already have monitors for it.

    Anyway, our other technician seems to think that Athlon 64s haven't been tested with Avid, Adobe Premiere and Adobe AfterEffects <not sure about the spellings, heh, I don't work with the programs>.

    I am pretty damn sure they have and have proven to be just as good as Intel's offerings, although at a lower price.

    Am I right?

    He believes that a Pentium 4 is a better bet and although I wouldn't go against him if money wasn't an issue, it is. The idea is not to blow over 600 on an extreme edition P4 that will perform only marginally better.

    We want something very fast, but paying loads extra for only small performance increases seems totally pointless.

    Opinions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I've used both Premiere 6.5 and After Effects 5.5 on my Athlon 1800+ system and they work fine, if that helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Time to upgrade. Avid Liquid 7 or Adobe Premiere
    By Galaxy in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-17-2006, 01:27 PM
  2. Forget Premiere Pro and AVID - Get one of these!
    By Alan Mills in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-12-2006, 06:06 PM
  3. Avid Liquid 7.0 VS. Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0
    By crustyproductions in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-28-2006, 01:08 AM
  4. getting around a non amd athlon xp
    By TVR in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2005, 11:19 AM
  5. Avid VS Adobe and Education
    By shizats in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 04:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •