Thread: New to Movies

Default New to Movies

Hey everybody, I'm new to making movies and videos, and I can make titles and stuff, and basic effects like fading video and music, and adding sound effects and things. But I need to know how the heck I can make gun effects, lazers, and other visual effects. What programs should I use (preferrably free ones) and I need to know how to do these things. I'm writing the script for a new movie sequal to the first movie I ever made, and I want it to be good.

Unfortunately 'good' and 'free' rarely go together!

Simple effects like lasers are included with Pinnacle Studio by default (maybe only in Plus version - I'm not sure sorry) or alternatively you could try getting a plug-in for Windows Movie Maker - there are tons of forums for this type of thing. You could also have the laser beam on a separate track, and chroma-key out the background, but this may not look very good, depending on your current editing software.

What do you mean by gun effects?

(Check out Wondertouch's Particle Illusion (demo available for free but includes watermark) which can be used to create tons of particle effects)

Buy gun effects I mean like when somebody shoots a gun, have a blast come out of the barrel. I've seen this before many time on internet videos but I don't know how to do it! its killing me! I need to know soon because I plan onhaving a movie with a huge gun battle but it will suck without the effect.

Blog Entries

Check out my s reel, at 3 min 44 sec is the effect you describe. All I did was look for a pic of a muzzle flash and paste it on.

Easy to say fiddly to do. Often with editing it's not a clever plug in but lateral thinking and hard work that does the trick. I think it works rathyer well...

http://www.zaskarfilms.com/filmPages/showreelpage.htm