Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Error when starting Vegas movie studio low memory

  1. #1
    ClintbC13 Guest

    Default Error when starting Vegas movie studio low memory

    When I try to run vegas 6.0 I get this error An error occurred starting Vegas Movie Studio. The system is low on memory.You may be able to reduce usage by closing other applications. I have emailed Sony and have done the regedit and msconfig stuff. I have a P4 2.8ghz with 2gigs of memory with 60gigs of free harddrive space. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
    Posts
    91

    Default

    I am working on a laptop with 768 MB of memory and have never had this message. I usually have Firefox running and often Photoshop, too.

    You might have a windows problem with memory not being released after an application closes. Apple solved this problem about 20 years ago, but Micro$oft still seems to struggle with the simple stuff.

    I have FreeRam XP Pro 1.51 and that seems to keep things working better. Although it does hog the entire system for a few seconds when it has do it's RAM-freeing thing.
    If freedom means anything at all, it is the liberty to tell others what they don't want to hear.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Heh, yeah macs are so good that they had to finally use pc processors and let people run xp, hoho!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
    Posts
    91

    Default

    You can say anything you like about Macs, but it won't change the fact that Apple was first with everything that Windows tries to do now. Changing the processor was a move to unhook from IBM and latch into lower processor prices. Besides that, the PowerPC chip, while the best available when it was introduced, had pretty much run its course. Neither IBM nor Motorola were interested in further development of it.

    It will be interesting to see how many people actually use Windows as a primary OS on the new Macs. Especially vs how many Windows users will migrate from a dual-boot system to the Mac OS. I think Linux was hoping that would happen, but what it really did was demonstrate that Linux is "not ready for prime time". Whereas the Apple OS has always been far ahead of Windows. Really a smart move for Microsoft. Let Apple try out the new stuff, and if it flies, copy it.

    If I were not in Brazil where Apple products and support are almost non-existent, I'd be doing everything on a Macintosh. But Brazil is at least three years behind on computer things. But the women are great
    If freedom means anything at all, it is the liberty to tell others what they don't want to hear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    'but the women are great' - grins....

    Apple wont be making pc's much longer really will they. Apple make lifestyle stuff mainly now, ipods and the like. I was amused to read that one of the apple top fruits just took a job as ceo (I think) with Ikea.... nuff said.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
    Posts
    91

    Default

    You know, I had someone else say that to me ten years ago. In fact, we made a bet on it. He never paid off, of course.

    Wanna bet? Make it easy on yourself.

    Executives change jobs all the time, it doesn't mean a thing, much as the Apple-haters would like it too.

    Next trip to the USA, I am going to buy a top-of the line Mac and bring it back with me. Then I'll have some real computer power without all the security issues of Windows and the "we couldn't care less" attitude of Microsoft. My goal is to have a Micro$oft-free zone here. I even have a logo for it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    If freedom means anything at all, it is the liberty to tell others what they don't want to hear.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Like the logo. BUT, 10 years ago mac had a bigger market share, it's shrinking, and they DO cost more per flop, and they only have less security hassles cos they are very unpopular, but it certainly is true to say few viruses, or trojans or games, or apps, or..... run on a mac.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default

    "we couldn't care less" attitude?. didn't you say that about Sony too?. I think I've got you sussed now Slrman....yer a Secret Large Retailer lover (SLRman?.) but you haven't come out yet huh?. I'll have a bet with you...I'll bet when you get your new mac you'll still use MS products, you'll still install Sony Vegas and you'll still come on this site coz you love us all sooooo much you aint gonna be able to live without us. Take the bet?. I will cough up if I'm wrong.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Joćo Pessoa, Brazil
    Posts
    91

    Default

    As I said, make it easy on yourself. How about $4,000 USD? (what I think it will cost me to fly to the USA, visit my family, and buy the Mac. I'm nothing if not avaricious!) When I have the Mac, there will not be one piece of MS software on it. I have already tried to dump Micro$oft with Xandros (a Linux system) but it just didn't pack the gear.

    Yes, I did say that about Sony, but only because it's true. They finally answered one email of the many I sent and then have yet to follow up on that one. In fact, they didn't really read the one they replied to, because they suggested I try the same things I told them I had already done.

    Well, I admit that's better than Microsoft who never respond to anything at all.

    You think I love you? Mmm, better not try to kiss me then if you don't want to be disillusioned. ROFLMAO
    If freedom means anything at all, it is the liberty to tell others what they don't want to hear.

  10. #10
    ClintbC13 Guest

    Default

    Thanks for all the Mac info but any ideas on the low memory error.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sony Vegas Movie Studio 6 question
    By philmaker in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2007, 03:17 AM
  2. Fade between tracks in Vegas Movie Studio
    By Rob in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 10:16 AM
  3. Vegas Movie Studio 4.0a
    By Video Novice in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2006, 06:06 AM
  4. Sony Vegas Movie Studio
    By thebills in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2006, 01:31 PM
  5. DirectX error on install of Movie Studio 4.0
    By Jon3 in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2005, 03:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •