Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: "i.LINK (DV) In" on Sony Camcorder not working

  1. #1

    Default "i.LINK (DV) In" on Sony Camcorder not working

    I recently bought a Sony DCR-HC35E which has the "i.LINK (DV) In" facility. The "i.LINK (DV) Out" works fine and all my video flies down the firewire and onto my PC fine. But when I attempt to do the opposite and get video from my PC back into the camcorder I only ever get a blue screen even though camcorder acknowledges the "i-link in" cable is present.

    My overall aim is to transfer some edited home movies and bought DVD movies onto my Mini Dv tapes so my camcorder can work as a dvd/tape player when I take it on holiday, allowing my son to watch films on the beach.

    My PC is running XP, is there anything i need to do to tell the PC's firewire port to broadcast a mirror image of it's screen down the i-link cable and into the camcorder.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    What format are you trying to upload to your camera? and how are you going about doing it?
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  3. #3

    Default

    It is not a specific file I am trying to upload, I just want to see a mirror image of whatever is on my PC Monitor to be displayed on my Camcorder screen. The same way as a portable dvd players screen can be connected to a regular TV, mirrowing what is on the small screen.

    Then in theory I should be able to start playing a DVD on my PC and the image should be displayed on my camcorder screen, leaving me free to record as and when onto Mini DV tape.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    I don't know the camera in question - but are you absolutely sure that DV-in is enabled? It isn't on many cameras (to avoid paying the EU duty that is payable on something that can be used as a VCR). You may want to double-check the spec/manual...
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Err - Northamptonshire?
    Posts
    672

    Default

    Also, another 'sorry if I'm insulting your intelligence' thought, but - I'd assume, if DV-in is enabled, that you won't actually see anything on the camera monitor until you tell it to record something. It won't - I don't think - just automatically mirror your PC screen - you have to be sending it a file and telling it to record that file. I'd guess... (That's how it works on my Panasonic, anyway)
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

    The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

  6. #6

    Default

    The camcorder definately has (DV)-in and was one of the reasons on picking that specific Camcorder.

    The user manual says the image should show up on the camcorder screen before recording in order to know that the link is working. Because I-link can be used to record live pictures from a Compatable TV it is definately not a file that has to be transferred across.

    page 54 of the user manual explains more http://pdf.crse.com/manuals/2659812111.pdf

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have 3 cameras that are dv in enabled, one a sony and none of them mirror the pc screen when connected. What they all do do is show the file that is being recorded from the PC when doing so.

    I would be very suprised if any pc (without extra s ware) automatically encodes the desktop with the dv codec and mirrors this through the firewire port.

    Recording dvds to the camera is not a trivial exercise and not one I would expect to be able to be done in real time through a firewire connection to the camera. It may be possible with some sony dvd players that have f wire out (maybe) or with a properly configured pc with a real time encoder card.

    There may be s ware available to do real time encoding to dv from a playing dvd but I have never seen it, but I havent looked.

    Sorry to be unhelpfull but I think your expectations are mistaken.

    To get the films onto a tape you will need to copy the vob files to the h drive and then reencode to dv then print to the tape.

    I am sure most decnt editors can do this for you but it is a lot of faffing.

    I suggest buying a cheap portable dvd player, they are actually pretty good, cost less than 100 quid and have a watchable screen too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I hate to be a fly in the ointment but I have to agree with MarkW. I think you are putting yourself through an awful lot of work just so your son can watch tapes/DVD's on the beach. Why don't you buy him a portable DVD player costing 40 or 50 pounds sterling, make copies of your tapes/dvds and let him watch them instead rather than giving him an expensive camera to take onto a beach where sand and water will get into the mechanism and shorten the cameras life. Then there is also the prospect of him being mugged.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hah, beach - salt - sand - mugging; good points. Personally I would never take any camera I really cherished to a beach for the resons Nikosony suggests.

Similar Threads

  1. "HELP" Sony DCR-HC96E DV transfer problem.
    By escortg3 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 12:47 PM
  2. Sony "DCR-TR7000E" Digital-8 Camcorder
    By hazaabb13 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-19-2007, 09:47 AM
  3. "Entry level" HDV camcorder...
    By Marcus Schmuck in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 01:35 PM
  4. "i.LINK (DV) In" on Sony Camcorder not working
    By fletchera in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-13-2006, 03:04 PM
  5. "one sony trinton super fine pitch pro"
    By Mihai in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-23-2005, 03:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •