Thread: Is Adobe Premiere for the more advanced?

Default Is Adobe Premiere for the more advanced?

Hi, I just purchased a Panasonic pv-gs 300 and am looking for a user friendly capture and edit program as i am a noob to all of this new digital technology.I used to video with my super 8's and hi 8 sony corders and edit with my sony editor in days gone by and now all of this is new to me and i want to do something similar for the grandkids as i did for their parents.

All i really want to do is fade in and out and add a little music where necessary, no Steven Spielberg stuff.
    At least that is what my plans are for the moment. I have other hobbies and don't plan on spending all my time editing.

So I was wondering if this program is complicated as I have heard that the Sony Vegas program is basic.
    But what I need is one where there would be a Tutorial that I could go over and over until I understand it and keep notes in my notebook binder that I reference when I run into problems.

I already capture video via a Hauppauge win tv pvr usb 2 and then create a dvd with ulead movie factory 4.
    I know that I can Import from that program the video from my corder to the hdd but am not sure about editing as I know the Ulead has a program Video 10.

Since I am a Noob, I am not looking for something that I have to spend hrs reading about only to do a short 4.75 dvd.

As it stands I am not fussy about the corder and its user friendliness, it is simply not like the old sony's that is for certain. Joystick and toggling around to turn off and on etc.
    I would not be looking at one of these if it were not of the grandkids, I found the older models to my liking and more user friendly.
    They say point and shoot and all the while you have to be looking through the LCD and burning up your battery. I still prefer looking through the eye piece.
    But times do change.

Please advise as to what would be a recommended program for me to use as it would be greatly appreciated.