Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Exporting - Your Device is Offline ??

  1. #1

    Default Exporting - Your Device is Offline ??

    Hi Everyone,

    I am a failry new to video editing, especially with vegas and so of course i have been reading your past posts quite thoroughly but haven't found the answer to my problem. So i am hoping that someone can shed some light.

    I have managed to capture, edit, render to produce a simple dvd using Vegas 6.0, DVD-Lab Pro and CopyToDVD.

    I am now trying to print my project back to tape, (i am using a Sony DCR-HC35 camcorder which is connected by firewire to the port on my Creative SoundBlaster Audigy card.)

    I have in the Options->Preferences->Print Device selected OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394/DV option, (which does show that the device is available).

    Next, i select Tools->Print Video to Tape, then ;
    Conform Timeline to Device Format -> PAL DV,
    Leader and Trailer ->SMPTE Bar (PAL) and the rest as default,
    Device Setup -> All Options are greyed out ?

    I noticed that when i flicked the camcorder off the Device Setup Options allowed me to select Crashed Recording and i then, flick the camcorder back on. But after it finished pre-rendering all the project it halted with a message :- Your Device is Offline.

    Checking in Print Devices it still shows that the device is available.

    Is there a setting or something that i am missing?

    FYI :- The above equipment was used to capture the footage onto the pc.
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    starting at the beginning, is you camera set to camera mode and not player??
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  3. #3

    Default

    Yes.
    When i try to print to video, the camcorder is in the the camera mode (ready to record ), but the Device Options are still greyed-out.

    Only when i switched the camera off completely do the options light up in black, allowing me to select Crashed Recording and click Next, at which point i switch the camcorder back to camera mode. But at the end of pre-rendering i get the error Device maybe Offline.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Have you already prerendered before attempting to print to tape? If not do so then try printing to tape. - Have had this a few times but its always turned out to be something silly like a simple setting.

  5. #5

    Default

    I'm not sure exactly what i'm suppose to be doing with the prerendered files but this is what i've done so far :-

    Prerendered whole movie (about 30 mins with 45 scenes).

    Next i deleted the original movie and opened all prerendered files onto the timeline and when i Print to Video, Device Options are still greyed-out as before.

    More help, please.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    OK have you tried the Camcorder to "player mode"?
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  7. #7

    Default

    Yes, but still no joy.

Similar Threads

  1. noobie: what does "offline media" mean?
    By momo22peach in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2012, 12:14 AM
  2. The DV device is unavailable for device control...
    By joey4127 in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2005, 01:33 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-18-2005, 09:38 AM
  4. The DV device is unavailable for device control
    By sara_dippity in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-04-2005, 08:33 PM
  5. The DV device is unavailable for device contro
    By joey4127 in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2004, 10:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •