Thread: DVD plays fine on PC, jerky on TV

Default DVD plays fine on PC, jerky on TV

Hello All:

I'm having a strange problem with Adobe Premiere Elements 2. I tried searching the forum for an answer, but didn't see anything that looked applicable.

The short version of my story is that I burned a DVD using the program and it plays fine on my PC, but exhibits jerky or stuttering motion when played using a DVD player connected to a television.

The longer version follows...

I'm new to video editing and am taking baby steps. I captured a VHS tape using an ATI "TV Wonder Elite" board and successfully read the file into Premiere Elements. I dragged the movie to the timeline, and without any additional editing told the program to burn a DVD. After many hours of processing, it spit-out a DVD that plays fine on my PC. I have tried it on two separate computers, using at least three different DVD player programs. The video plays fine on the computers.

However, if I play it on a stand-alone DVD player connected to a television, motion appears quite jerky. I've tried it on two different players and televisions with identical results. I also repeated the process with a different capture file and got similar results. The video I captured was a cartoon, so the stutter is quite noticeable against the static backgrounds. The static parts of the image look fine, but the moving characters don't.

At first, I thought it might be an interlace issue, but didn't see any settings in Premiere Elements that would account for it.

Does anyone have a suggestion? Any help would be appreciated.

Hmmmm....It appears that I may indeed have an interlace issue. The ATI capture card's hardware encoder saves files as MPEG, which may have dominant field inversion from what Adobe expects.

Here is a link to a post on the Adobe Forum describing the issue and a solution(click on guest access if prompted to log in).

Western Europe