Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Not so good DV capture - Please Help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    16

    Default Not so good DV capture - Please Help

    I just recently purchased a canon ZR 700 camcorder and I seem to be expreiencing fuzzy DV capture (via firewire), however the picture on the A/V out (to the TV) is unbelieveably crisp.

    I was wondering if there was a reason via encoding durring capture or whatever that would cause this.

    I've heard that it may have something to do with interlacing.

    BTW, I have a huge 300 GIG harddrive, so I don't have to worry about space for uncompressed video.


    Thanks in Advance,
    Duncan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Alright, so I'm not sure exactly what's wrong, but what I got from it so far is:

    - I used a freeware app to get the jagged looking uncompressed video.
    - I then compress it with Microsoft DV and it looks like shit.

    Ya... that's about it. Can you help me please?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    When you say fuzzy, do you mean it has lines through it?

    Interlacing means that as the frame is refreshed on the screen only every other line is refreshed and then the alternate lines on the next refresh.

    This is standard tv output, and as such your tv will be quite happy for you to feed this in and it will deal with it and it looks great on the screen. A pc and pc monitor is not built for interlaced output, it just shows what the codec tells it to show, which includes interlacing lines, especially in scenes with lots of movement.
    It is also possible that the shutter speed on the camera was to slow for the amount of movement in the scenes. This will add motion blur and the interlacing will become more obvious.

    If you are encoding to DVD to watch on the TV then the interlacing is no problem as that is what TVs n DVD players are happy with, just edit and see how it looks. if you are encoding to a PC/web based output(DivX,wmv,mov,etc), then make sure the encoder is set to de-interlace when you encode the final output.

    Mike.
    Canon, Edius, Final Cut Studio, Always Progressive, Promotional Video Production

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I FINALLY FOUND THE PROBLEM!!! Thank you. I was encoding with the Microsoft DV codec which was messing everything up. What I wanted to do was just transcode the uncompressed AVI to DVD! I did that and the only quality loss was from the transcoding. Thank you so much.

    -Duncan

Similar Threads

  1. Good Capture Software
    By topgazza in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-14-2006, 12:40 AM
  2. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  3. What would be a good upgrade from the ADS Pyro A/V Capture?
    By BubbaJoe in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2005, 08:38 AM
  4. Good Job
    By StevenBogda in forum User Videos
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-15-2005, 09:07 PM
  5. Is this any good?
    By Saint Seiya in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2003, 09:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •