Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Widescreen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default Widescreen

    Can anyone explain to me why I have 2 black vertical bars at the right and left edge of frame when using stills 1049x576 pixels. This only happens when editing in DVD PAL Widescreen.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default vegasarian

    Sorry should have said I'm using Vegas 6.0d

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Aspect ration of your still is 1.8. PAL is 1.25. Different aspect ratio means there are gaps, hence the black bars. You need to crop your pictures to the same aspect ratio.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default vegasarian

    Aspect ratio of Vegas PAL DV Widescreen (16x9) is 1,25??. That would mean cropping a pic to 1049x839 and that does'nt look widescreen?. Or am I missin somethin?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Perhaps. The pizel aspect ratio of your still is very likely 1.00, pal dv wide is 1.4something... so when you import the piccy it gets all stretched.

    Just squish it in the editor or b4 importing.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    If you stretch out PAL footage from 720 x 576 using a 16:9 aspect ratio you end up with a picture frame of 1024 x 576. Note that it's the pixel aspect ratio that creates widesreen, not the amount of pixels. To that end, widescreen is still 720 x 576, just that the all the pixels are squished up. You need to take your images and adjust them so that when cropped they are 1024 x 576. Now change the dimensions to 720 x 576 in an image editor. Finally import into Vegas and strech the image to fill the screen.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Esher, Surrey.
    Posts
    328

    Default widescreen

    Many Thanks all!.

    Still a little confused coz when I took at snapshot of some widescreen (16x9) PAL footage in Vegas and put the snapshot in CS2 it said the image size was 1049x576.

Similar Threads

  1. Widescreen .... please help
    By robinf in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-25-2006, 11:42 PM
  2. Why not widescreen?
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 09:14 AM
  3. widescreen
    By simonforbes1970 in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2006, 03:45 PM
  4. Why Widescreen Is Bad...
    By moldytoaster in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 09-12-2005, 10:21 AM
  5. Widescreen help.
    By Tylor in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 09:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •