Thread: My first film - 90 second film noir

Yorkshire, UK

Default My first film - 90 second film noir

Hey everyone,

I've not posted here before because this is the first film I've ever made. I'd really appreciate any opinions you have, good or bad:

It's on YouTube because it's for a competition and they required I upload it there, so sorry about the quality.

It's a film noir, which I think was rather ambitious as a first project given that:
    1. I don't live in a city
    2. I don't live in America
    3. I'm not American for that matter
    4. I had to maintain certain futuristic elements
    5. I had to fit it into the continuity of someone else's story
    6. I had just one week to make it
    7. I had to fit it all into a maximum of 90 seconds
    8. I've not actually watched very much film noir
    9. I've never done any CGI before
    10. I had zero budget

Yeah, so out of my depth

Anyway, I look forward to your comments.

Blog Entries

For a first project it's very impressive.

I personally don't like adding "film noise" to a video. When I watch a DVD of an old forties black and white film I don't see scratches and dust, so I don't feel that there's any need to add it. Just my personal opinion.

The sound was very good, the voice over fitted very well and the music was just right. My only criticism about the film making was that I find the shot in the Graveyard not "noir" enough to fit with the rest of the images.
    But still, I really enjoyed it, pity it was only 90 seconds...

Bristol uk
    Blog Entries

I really liked that, the v over was ace, it really captured the right vibe. I know what guru means about the processing, I think it may be better in un messed b/w.

I cant want for more from you Seej.

BTW, you say you are in yorkshire but the film is shot where i live in Bristol? Are you a student?

Yorkshire, UK