Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Graphic card TV-OUT: signal problems?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default Graphic card TV-OUT: signal problems?

    Hi!

    I'm new at the forum so after all, thanks to the future answers!!

    So my question is: i have a PC to play a video in a tv: tv-out is the primary monitor. But when i turn on the computer to watch the movie in a 14" TV near the PC everything goes fine. But when i connect the TV-out cable (S-video) to a 29" TV far way from pc (about 50 meters ) the video don't start. Is it possible that the signal is to low and i need a video booster?

    Thanks for the help!!

    ParT

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Could you give us some more details on the 29" tv you have and does it actually have an S-Video input? Have you set the output to S-Video on your computer?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi!

    The 29" TV it's a Sony like the 14" TV. The cable that i use from graphic card is a S-video to RCA cable adaptor. After i connect to the tv with a long rca cable to the av scart (or to the front rca connectors).
    I set the output to the s-video to tv-out: is identified as primary monitor.

    Thanks

    ParT

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42
    Posts
    329

    Default

    I think you'll need a video booster amp, since just the ohmic losses in 50 meters of coax in a 75 ohm system can eat up your nominal 1 volt peak to peak output.

    Also be prepared for earthing current problems if your PC and the far away TV monitor are on different powerlines. Even inside a single building, I've seen power current in the framing that could produce over a volt differential. And the currrent flow in in the coax shield was over ten amps.
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi!

    I will try the video booster...

    About this question, in this moment the video is played by a laserdisc and i don't have any problems of signal even in more long distances.

    I'll give to all of you feedback of my tests!

    Thanks a lot!

    ParT

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi!

    I test a Kramer VIS-4x4 matrix and works great! I also test a Monacor AVC-607 video enhancer and also works but a litle less quality. So, i really need a video amplifier to achieve my goal!! Thanks to all of feedback and i think i will need to visit this forum again very soon.

    Thanks again!

    ParT

Similar Threads

  1. Best Spec - Graphic Card and Ram etc?
    By Canyon in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-18-2006, 09:26 AM
  2. video card or graphic card HELP
    By toefunky in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2006, 11:15 PM
  3. Graphic Card Encoding.
    By MerlinBiggs in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2006, 09:41 PM
  4. Graphic card
    By P Marlow in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-02-2005, 09:02 PM
  5. Which Graphic card is the best for DV??
    By P Marlow in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2005, 04:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •