Thread: Making a Photo Album DVD

Default Making a Photo Album DVD

Hi, can anyone help/give me URLs that explain making a photalbum dvd. I've got hundreds of photos that I want to send to people.

What software can be used to do this?

I need some kind of interface as the people I'm sending to bearly even know what a DVD is. I can't just stick the pictures on the dvd, also it's going to be viewed on a tv not a computer.

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

Unfortnuately, there is not really a two line answer to your question.

There are a few ways of doing this that I can think of off hand...

1) Use some video editing software. Any NLE that allows you top use stills as assets will do. You need to create your timeline for your 'movie' then just add your stills to the timeline. Once on there they can animated if required and transitions between pictures can be introduced. As an editor I prefer this solution because it has the most flexibility and control and you then have the software to edit 'real' video as well.

2) Some DVD authoring packages contain functionality to allow you to quickly create a still slideshow with a minimum of fuss.

3) Finaly, I'm sure there are a number of bespoke software packages out there just for this purpose. this is likely your best option if you do not want to dip you toes into 'real video' editting.

Could I use Macromedia Flash? Build a photoalbum with that? Would buttons and things be selectable on a tv?

4. Default

Flash would not work. Flash is dependent on the software being installed on a PC/Mac. I am not aware of any way that a DVD could be created to run an interactive Flash programme for TV playback. I know Macromedia (now Adobe) Director used to be used alot to create interactive cover discs for magazines, but I think this would only work on a PC/Mac also - just like certain film DVD's sometimes have special features that are only accessible on a computer.