Thread: Problems capturing - help!

Default Problems capturing - help!

Hi all , my friend has an old analogue camera with 3 RCA outputs.He has an RCA to USB converter and captures video in that windows movie maker you get with windows.7 meg/minute very poor quality (at maximum settings) in WMV format.

I opened up premiere but could only capture from digital cameras with a DV socket.Is there a way to capture analogue through USB in premiere or is there any programs people can recommend for decent quality analogue through USB video capture?

Quote Originally Posted by The_Ruffneck
    <snip>

I opened up premiere but could only capture from digital cameras with a DV socket.Is there a way to capture analogue through USB in premiere or is there any programs people can recommend for decent quality analogue through USB video capture?
    I'm new to this NLE thing so I'm no authority, but the reading I've done suggests (in fairly certain terms) that USB is a sucky way to go about capturing video; especially USB 1.1 (data thruput too slow) - USB 2.0 is better/faster, but if the software/system doesn't support it.....

Ya'll might want to consider investing a few quid in a dedicated capture card that has RCA/SVideo inputs. I purchased an ADSTech PCI capture card (native format is AVI) from TigerDirect for about $20USD, and the MPegPro plugin for Premiere Pro 1.5 recognises the card & captures my VHS (gack!) video quite nicely with no major software-configuration acrobatics required.
    ~Applied Metaphysician~