Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to use my SONY TRV480 camcoder as pass thru

  1. #1

    Default How to use my SONY TRV480 camcoder as pass thru

    Hi,

    Pls, I'll like to know how to connect my SONY camcoder as pass thru to capture analogue video from VCR to my PC. Anytime I attempted this, I'm only able to capture the audio but nothing shows on the camera LCD. Ironically, it was clearly stated in the cam manual that it's quite possible but i've made several attempts & could not still work out.This my inabailty has made me to buy an ext. TV card (Cute TV USB) which could not even give me a great video quality production I desire.

    I do connect the SONY TRV480 camera to VCR thru RCA cable supplied.

    Pls, what else do I need to know on the connection.

    Your prompt response will be highly appreciated.

    JohnA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Are you running both audio and video from RCA (composite) on the VCR to the same connections on the camera or are you taking the audio from RCA and video from S-Video?

  3. #3

    Default RE: How to use my SONY TRV480 as passthru

    Hi Nikosony,

    I do run both audio and video from AV out on the VCR with RCA cable supplied with d camcoder (yellow for video & black/white for audio) to the DV/AV in connections on the camera.

    Pls, I need your prompt assistance. This thing has bothered me after having made several attempts but could only capture sound from VCR & no image.

    Rgds - JohnA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I have never used a Sony TRV480 before but is there any setting in the menus where you can change the video and audio sockets from output to input. Normally signals are sent out of the camera through the RCA sockets but you are doing the opposite, you are putting signals into the camera, converting them to digital and then outputting through the firewire socket. I'm also wondering if the RCA sockets on the camera can actually be changed from output to input?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    I take it you are using Firewire to connect the Sony to your computer and not USB?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-25-2006, 10:54 PM
  2. How to use TRV480 as pass through capturing analog
    By JohnA in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2006, 03:48 PM
  3. How to use Sony TRV480 as pass through capturing analog
    By JohnA in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-26-2006, 01:59 PM
  4. F:S| sony dcr dvd203 dvd camcoder boxed!
    By vandam1987 in forum Ebay and other classified ads: gear, cameras and video editing stuff
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-31-2006, 02:15 PM
  5. Sony DCR-IP7E. Analogue pass through??
    By ponker in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2006, 10:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •