Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Studio to Liquid

  1. #1

    Question Studio to Liquid

    Ok I have been a long time user of Pinnacles Studio. I used it sense 7.0 and now 10.5T, which is in the mail. They have come a long way, sense AVID bought them =) anyway my question is I am thinking of going to Avids Liquid v7 and I want to know that I am making the right step.

    I am not a big editor I mainly have done some weddings, special events and small clips for various reasons. Itís not a job more a hobby for me, my real life job has nothing to do with video editing. So is it worth the $$ for a hobbyist?

    Also I have all of the add-ons for Studio 10 will they work in Liquid?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    They probably won't. It's a different platform.

  3. #3

    Default

    Is it worth the jump? I played with Avid Free DV which I am sure works similar to there other lines. I like a lot of things that it has but seems to be a little more complex. My other thought is how much will Avid change Studio to look more like Liquid?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Really can't tell. I'm not interested in the Studio line, I haven't researched into that. They say that versions 10 and up are based on Liquid, but I don't think that applies to the GUI.
    Anyway Avid will keep the Studio line for consumers. It's the best selling consumer NLE.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks for your input Mihai

  6. #6

    Default

    I have Studio 10.5... Plus media edition., and I have to say its a pain in the...
    It crashes almost every time I use it and looking at the pinnacle/avid forums it looks like liqued has simalar problems. I find it hard to let lose of my cash to become a bata tester. I ended up getting sony vegas and it has not crashed once. As long as pinnacle/avid release products to soon I think people will do what I did and jump ship.
    Wil

    Software Used:
    TGV Edius 6, TGV ProCoder 3, DVD Lab Pro. 2

    http://www.youtube.com/user/ChapmanProduction

  7. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chapman Photography
    I have Studio 10.5... Plus media edition., and I have to say its a pain in the...
    It crashes almost every time I use it and looking at the pinnacle/avid forums it looks like liqued has simalar problems. I find it hard to let lose of my cash to become a bata tester. I ended up getting sony vegas and it has not crashed once. As long as pinnacle/avid release products to soon I think people will do what I did and jump ship.

    another 10.5 user with the Crash crash crash problem

    I havent tried Sony Vegas, but looks like i will shortly.
    Live from Norwich !

    Sony PC1000E ( Stopped working after 13months)
    Sony HDR-HC3 4Mega Pixels High Def Mini DV Broke
    Canon HF 10 - Broke
    iPhone4 Sport
    Waiting for the Sony HDR-GW55VE

    Avid Studio, + Pinnacle Studio14, Win7 64bit 12 GIG memory, Nvidia GTX590, twin 3D display, 2Terrabyte HD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    296

    Default

    I presently use pinnacle 9 which I've found pretty solid after upgrading and then getting that first big patch.

    Because the way I work, I'm now using 9 to do much of the original edit, then putting the outcoming .avi into Visual Communicator to add graphics and effects - this seems to work well for news footage, and reportage style material, but not for more feature oriented material.

    But I think Vegas looks like an interesting next move . . .
    I try to make someone happy every day - but it may not be your turn today . . .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up Yes it's possible

    I have taken and just layed out the job in pinnacle 10.5.2 and then imported it into Avid Liquid vs 7 and it renderes much faster. If you can just get through all the short crashes you can get a finnished product that works well. Make sure you read my post regarding the sound problem easily corrected if you take and leave spaces in your smartsound audio track line.
    It's worth the investment in Avid just for the reduced rendering time.

Similar Threads

  1. Studio 10.5.2 and Avid Liquid vs7
    By 5342dreamations in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-13-2006, 07:01 PM
  2. Pinnacle Studio v Liquid Edition
    By cadboll in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-04-2005, 07:45 AM
  3. Liquid SP2
    By fastedit in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 12:08 PM
  4. Upgrade from Studio to Liquid
    By Meargreen in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-19-2005, 07:04 PM
  5. studio 9 vs liquid edition
    By brianengel in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2005, 03:44 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •