Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: my worst day in the office

  1. #1

    Default my worst day in the office

    been a bad day for me... ran batch files earlier which had mistakes in my folder paths and it deleted about 3 of my source video folders..

    in each folder my captured action had been captured into many small .avi files. I thought if i recaptured the tape from beginning to end I would be able to just open the .veg project file and when it warns about missing files I would point to a new location but oh no, my project timing is now all messed up!! I think the files must have been broken down differently from the last time. i.e. clip001 is now clip 001+002. What can i do to ensure this doesnt happen again (apart from not deleting my source files).

    Does timecode come in here?

    Please help me!

    I could cry right now!!

    Regards
    Jonny
    Last edited by jonnyc747; 04-28-2006 at 01:08 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    ooooooooouch!

    Thats a pain in the arse! - Somewhere along the line you had clips named the same.


    You must make sure that you are consistent in naming your clips! I had a similar problem where it was asking for the wrong tape. I had to go back and figure out what was what and i wasted an entiere day trying to figure it out!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    Jonny, you could always try NOT DELETING YOUR SOUCE FILES, only joking mate I to have had this problem and now I make sure I keep the tape/file names on a piece of paper inside the DV tape box.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  4. #4

    Default

    yeah i was up to 4am trying to work stuff out and recapture it all. I have no problem identifying the tape names as when vegas reports missing files its gives the tape name i.e. tape01-001.avi as the filename.

    Each time I capture I use the advanced capture mode. I thought the capture tool would automatically detect the clips in the same way as last time i.e. creating a new scene based on video content. However, there are more clips this time than last time? Does this make sense?

    Would it be a better idea to capture my tapes as one solitary avi file?

    Yesterday was a day id rather try and forget about!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I dont think i am a workflow expert by any means but I capture as one big avi. I just feel more in control that way.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    You got me beat!! I don't understand why you are getting more clips when re capturing, I thought the capturing was carried out with the computer reading the cameras electronic signals (i.e start/stop/time code) and a shed load of logerithms ensuring that if you recapture you get file for file and frame for frame duplicates. Realy sorry I can't help. Just a quick question, are you saving to the same named folder and drive?
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yeebsy
    You got me beat!! I don't understand why you are getting more clips when re capturing, I thought the capturing was carried out with the computer reading the cameras electronic signals (i.e start/stop/time code) and a shed load of logerithms ensuring that if you recapture you get file for file and frame for frame duplicates. Realy sorry I can't help. Just a quick question, are you saving to the same named folder and drive?
    yes thats right, I have recaptured all the tapes using the same tape names. I selected the option which creates a new clip everytime a new scene appears. Perhaps I had dropped frames on the first capture? Would this make any odds?

    EDIT : for the first section of my project i had used clips 001-107, now i have 001-108!

    I have no idea about usage of timecode etc... maybe someone could explain. All I know is that I go to transport - capture - capture tape and away it goes!



    jonny
    Last edited by jonnyc747; 04-28-2006 at 02:52 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    ooooooooouch!

    Thats a pain in the arse! - Somewhere along the line you had clips named the same.


    You must make sure that you are consistent in naming your clips! I had a similar problem where it was asking for the wrong tape. I had to go back and figure out what was what and i wasted an entiere day trying to figure it out!

  9. #9

    Default

    Tough luck man, yea remember to name your clips. Hapy editing

Similar Threads

  1. Worst overdub ever
    By RadioactivePoop in forum User Videos
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-09-2006, 11:15 PM
  2. The World's Worst Wedding Video
    By Marc Peters in forum User Videos
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 05:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •