Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi definition? Is it time to move down that route?

Default Hi definition? Is it time to move down that route?

Hi guys,

I have a number of queries and would appreciate any info.

Presently I am using an ancient Digital8 camcorder to capture footage from motorsport events. I upload some clips to the net and produce DVDs. The camera I have was a good one in the D8 era but now I feel it is time to upgrade. I will keep this old one so I can still capture all my D8 tapes.

I have to video my first wedding in september for a friend and its a good excuse to upgrade to a new camcorder. I am a student and my budget is low although I wouldnt mind investing in a good camcorder providing it would last me for years!

I am happy with sticking to Sony but I have a question about which format to go for. MiniDV seems to be the way to go for prosumer camcorders. The question is though - is it worth spending a bit extra for a Hi definition camcorder? I was looking at the Sony HC-1E which has high definition. It is a nice little beast but rather pricey.

If anyone could advise me on a good camcorder in the sony range i would appreciate it. I want something with 3CCD if possible and want this camcorder to do what I need for the next few years. Something with pro features is what I'm after although I dont know too much about it just now.

Also I need advice on which tripods/accessories I should invest in before capturing this wedding.

Thanks in advance for the info/advice.

Many thanks

Blog Entries

What pro features are you after? Pro cameras often have less features !

If you are planning disribution via dvd and the web a hdv camera will not offer better finished quality to a good dv camera, but a good hdv camera is also a good dv camera and you are future proofed.

Editing hdv footage can be very slow too.