Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Is this PC adequate?

  1. #1

    Default Is this PC adequate?

    Hey guys.....newbie slayj here. I just purchase a panny gs-150 3ccd camcorder to record my forthcoming son and wanted to upgrade my computer to transfer the video onto DVD. This computer will be primary used for this function. With what I have below, is there any suggestions? Thanks........

    P4 D 805 2.66 mhz processor
    ECS RC410L/800 MB
    250 WD SATA 16MB HD
    1 GB Kingston DDR2 PC4200
    Pioneer 16x DVD Writer
    Diamond Stealth S120 Graphics Card
    Inexpensive DV card for firewire capture
    Adobe Premiere Elements
    Windoms XP Home SP2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Should be fine.

  3. #3

    Default

    How do you rate the ECS boards and the graphics card?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407

    Default

    The graphics card wont come into the equation, adobe is cpu and ram intensive, to capture use the firewire and it zips an AVI straight to your hard drive. When out and about I edit on a 512mb ram 1.3 centrino laptop so for what you are after you rig is more than upto the job. I hope you have fun with your panasonic, the picture quality for such a small camera is unbelievable!!! I still use my "Panny GS-75" for family days out, great cameras.
    Last edited by yeebsy; 04-26-2006 at 11:05 PM.
    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,612

    Default

    Just a quick note: a) don't go cheap on the mobo and b) you wouldn't believe how much of a difference a dedicated hard drive makes.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mihai
    Just a quick note: a) don't go cheap on the mobo and b) you wouldn't believe how much of a difference a dedicated hard drive makes.
    Does this mean you wouldn't go with the ECS board? As for the dedicated HD, I am looking into that one already. Thanks for the tip.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slayj
    Does this mean you wouldn't go with the ECS board? As for the dedicated HD, I am looking into that one already. Thanks for the tip.
    If anyone offered me an ECS board, I would run away screaming

    Get an Asus or Gigabyte board.

    As for the video card, I don't know enough about it to be able to give an opinion.

  8. #8

    Default

    How about an ABIT board? I have had good luck with them.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893

    Default

    A lot of people do like Abit boards. Don't really have much experience with them though so I can't give a personal opinion either way.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yeebsy
    The graphics card wont come into the equation, adobe is cpu and ram intensive,
    I presume you are not an After Effects user then!

    Whereas it's true that NLEs are ram and cpu intensive, more and more 'editing' apps are getting GPU hungry for rendering out certain types of effects.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How many hours to become an adequate video editor?
    By Reporter in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-15-2006, 09:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •