Thread: My head hurts, please advise

Default My head hurts, please advise

O.K. I'll try to make this brief, (but it won't be). For the past week I've been studying video editing software, reading forums, checking manufacture sites, checking reviews, etc. I'm putting a new system together primarily for video editing and some architectural rendering. Although I'm fairly new to digital video editing I am quite familiar with the process and some similar formatted programs, (Photoshop, acid, sound forge).
    I will probably not reach much farther than "upper level" home movies. But if I get a burst of enthusiasm for some serious creativity I would like to have the resources to pursue it. I've narrowed my search, a little, and would really appreciate some oppinions from someone who has had some experiance with these products. Basically I'm trying to compare apples to apples (not macs) and that seems to be much more difficult than it sounds.

I'm pretty confident in my system choices: AMD3200 64, 2/WD1200 Sata/8mb HD's, 1 gig memory etc. However, when it comes to Capture and editing software I'm starting to blur. I will need anologe input and will be exporting mostly to dvd or vcd, occasionaly vcr. Here are my "narrowings down".

Matrox rt.x10 suite with all the adobe products, Lets edit rt+, Avid express dv, and I'm not shutting out the option of some low end programs like powerdirect 3, magix movie edit pro, or even sony screen blast movie studio. If anyone is laughing at my last few choices please don't hesitate to let me know. Like I said, I want to be able to go the extra mile when I feel.
    Some Items that I know I would like are 5.1 surround, widescreen, and motion tracking. I'm just getting to the point where they are all blending together and I seem to be at a dead end. Oh yeah, I would like to stay under 7 maybee $800 (u.s). So anyway, that's my story. I'm open to any advice at this point. Thanks for reading this far.