Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: can't use effects like "reverse vid" or "PIP&

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default can't use effects like "reverse vid" or "PIP&

    Hi, I recently decided to switch from using good old pinnacle studio 9 plus to using Adobe premiere pro v1.5. I'm quickly regretting it.

    When I use an effect such as "reverse vid" the playback goes all choppy/jerky. The same happens when using multiple video layers for effects such as picture in a picture or chroma keyer.

    This happens both when I go to render the work area and view the video in the monitor, and also when I have finished and exported the movie too. Making almost all the effects in adobe completely useless!!!

    Here is a quick vid I made to demonstrate the problem. As you can see, it plays fine in normal forward motion. As soon as it goes into reverse it looks terrible. I didn't do anything fancy, I just copied and pasted the clip and then reversed it.

    http://files.filefront.com/reverse_v.../fileinfo.html

    Here is the problem occuring again but just using the crop tool feature this time

    http://files.filefront.com/crop_vid_.../fileinfo.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    44

    Default

    What HDD space do you have available and how well is it defragged?

    Is this DV AVI?


    Dave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Hi,

    Let's start by asking what the spec on your computer is? Is it a laptop or desktop, personally a desktop is the only one I'd use for video as most laptops are just not up to the job spec wise. Things like amout of RAM, processor speed, FSB speed (800Mhz recommended), hard disk space, when you last defragmented it (during a heavy editing session I might have to do it three times per week - compared to twice a month using other applications). Did you capture your original files using firewire, analogue or files off DVD's for example? And finally are you using SD or HD?

Similar Threads

  1. "latest" video editing sottware on gadget show in 5 mins
    By enc in forum Forum Announcements and News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 06:00 PM
  2. "BROKEN" Feature Film VFX Test Clip w/ Breakdown
    By BROKEN2005 in forum User Videos
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 05:54 PM
  3. "24" tv series effects
    By schweetjp in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2005, 11:32 AM
  4. "Boxmobiles" and "The Forest"
    By MasterMike in forum User Videos
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-25-2004, 02:47 PM
  5. Pinnacle Studio 9: Sound "plucks" when making tape
    By KNude in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-05-2004, 05:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •