Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Capture besides avi

  1. #1

    Default Capture besides avi

    Is there any way to capture wmv format instead of avi? Avi just takes up so much memory.
    Quad Freestyler

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    The AVI you created takes up so much space as it's probably encoded with a DV codec. This means the level of compression is very low and therefore editing easy. If you capture as WMV, then you'll be capturing to a highly compressed format not suitable for editing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yes - as a rule of thumb the smaller the file the poorer the quality. It is best to edit on the raw dv file and only compress to the degree needed for the chosen delivery method.

    Buying another hard disc is the way forward I suggest.

Similar Threads

  1. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 08:37 PM
  2. Blank capture window, but capture ok
    By Incitatus in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 10:19 AM
  3. My video capture process is locked - can't capture
    By Lance2004 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 12:20 AM
  4. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-05-2003, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •