Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: one camera to two pc's

  1. #1

    Default one camera to two pc's

    i need to connect one digital camera to two pc's
    the connector is firewire can i get a switch to do this? if so where from?

  2. Default

    Do you need both computers to get the signal at the same time, or just be able to switch back and forth between them?

  3. #3

    Default

    just be able to switch between the two thankyou

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I know that you can daisy chain firewire devices. I'm pretty certain that if you connect one camera via firewire to a PC, then connect the two pcs together via firewire, the second PC will detect the camera attached to the first. I used to network two PCs via firewire and I'm pretty sure I could connect to a camcorder via the other PC.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Mark, please elaborate on connecting two pc's using firewire. Can you transfer files, can you access each desktop, will you have to set up a local network or will one be set up automatically when the two computers are connected?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    Windows sees the connection as another network connection, so if you run the network wizard and select the firewire connection you'll be able to do all the things via firewire that you can via a network.

    Not sure if this is required.

  7. #7

    Default

    the computers can't be networked for legal reasons hence the need for a switch if anybody knows where i can get one if at all
    thankyou

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    11,526
    Blog Entries
    24

    Default

    I won't tell anyone if you won't...

    But seriously, these kind of things wouldn't come cheap if available at all. Why not just get two firewire cables and unplug the camera as necessary? A lot cheaper!

    I'm also prety sure you don't have to network the PCs, but then if you have this "switch" you could argue that the PCs are connected.

Similar Threads

  1. Canon HD camera using Rebel XT lenses, 4-6 Meg Pixel still camera combo
    By dydavid in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 06:06 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2006, 10:49 PM
  3. Which Camera is best?
    By Maccy18 in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-19-2006, 12:28 PM
  4. connecting hi8mm camera to a mini dv camera
    By Ms. Divine in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-20-2005, 04:47 AM
  5. Sony Vaio PC's
    By AliceInChains in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-21-2004, 01:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •