Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Capturing from VCR

  1. #1

    Default Capturing from VCR

    How simple is it to move an old video tape to the computer?

    I've read my camcorder manual as my first thought was to copy from VCR to camcorder and then capture from the DV tape ... be buggered if I can figure that one out as the manual with the camera may as well be written in Dutch.

    So ... what do I need to do a straight capture from VCR?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Bournemouth, UK
    Posts
    659

    Default

    If your cam has video in enabled, you can use it as a pass through device meaning video in from vcr using composite or svideo and audio leads and firewire to the PC. Play the vcr the cam converts the signal to DV and sends it direct to the pc using the firewire cable.

    If you many tapes to do, look in to buying a canopus advc unit.

Similar Threads

  1. Capturing dvr/vcr
    By Chapman Photography in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-22-2006, 01:07 AM
  2. Capturing
    By Ovie in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-14-2005, 04:13 AM
  3. DV Capturing?
    By Ovie in forum Technology advice and tips
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2005, 04:35 PM
  4. Capturing
    By Ian in Northampton in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 03:03 PM
  5. CAPTURING TO HDD
    By BROWNERS in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 04:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •