Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Build Recommendation Please

Default Build Recommendation Please

Hi all. . .newbie here.

I've been editing videos as a hobby for a few years now - but with the bloated family PC (pentium 4 1.8ghz, 512MB ram, 150G HD, etc.)

I'm interested in building a PC specifically for doing video editing - but the fact is, I'm a hobbyist. I don't have the time (or the capacity) to scale the steep learning curve of the professional-level editors (Adobe Premiere Pro, etc.) I've been using Pinnacle Studio 9, Ulead, and Adobe Elements to-date - and aside from stability issues (which I attribute to the low-powered hardware), I'm quite happy with these solutions. Again, my objective is to take 3 hours of birthday/vacation/etc. video and put it into a 5-25 minute "slick" production. I've got no aspirations for commercial production.

OK - here's my question. I'm about to build my own system. As a principle, I want to build the best I can for the money - without spending too much unnecessarily. I don't NEED the very best - but if it's a matter of spending $50 or $100 more on a component or processor that really makes a difference - then heck - that seems to be a smart choice. Here's my preliminary build below. I think the biggest question for me at this point is, given my limited aspirations, am I "overbuying" on the graphics card? I'm not going to be doing any 3D special effects, CGI, etc. Just your typical suburban dad going way overboard on screen wipes, transitions, etc. Wink

Appreciate your thoughts:

Mother Board Asus A8N SLI Premium NVIDIA Socket 939 ATX Motherboard

CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester 1GHz HT
    Dual Core
    CPU Cooler Thermaltake RX Series CL-P0296 92mm

Memory (2GB) CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered

System Drive Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

Video Storage Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s

Case Antec P180