Thread: miniDV or mpeg

Default miniDV or mpeg

I've got two copies of a film one a 1,645,283 ko mpg (74mn) the other a miniDV (in PAL) will there be a big difference in quality between the two? I'm going to do it with adobe. And this might sound ignorant but mpg's don't have that region 1 region 2 stuff do they? So would a mpg put on a DVD have it? I want to put subtitles on it so I'm going to put it on the computer do the subtitles put the result on a DVD and then ship it to the US I'd put it on miniDV but then it'd have to be converted to NTSC as well.

2. Default

I'm new to dvd creation, but I think that you make a file from a video file, and that is called the dvd image, which is then put on the dvd. It's different than something like a cd where you can just throw stuff on it and it works. As to the quality issue, I think it depends on what you're uploading the dv with. If you can get the dv tape into mpeg2 or avi, those are usually higher quality in my very limited experiance.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, which is very possible ...
    \"He\'s not as tough as he thinks he is!
    Neither are we.\" - The Sting

3. Default

DV-Avi is much better quality than a mpeg-2 which is the format on a standard DVD. DV is also better to edit with. If you can, use the DV to bring into Adobe for editing.
    The region issues you talk about are only on the final DVD and are not part of actual video itself.

4. Default

Worth pointing out here that Premiere (assuming that's your editing app of choice) cannot natively edit MPEG files. You can get plug-ins I believe, although these are not cheap. You would want to convert this MPEG to an AVI first, and then take into Premiere to edit. VirtualDub is a good app for this. I would recommend you capture the DV tape though, and work with that. Then convert it to MPEG.

You don't say what DVD app you are using, but you say Adobe, so I'll assume you are using Encore. Encore only works with MPEG video files, not AVI.