Thread: Video & live music gigs Sony fx1

Default Video & live music gigs Sony fx1

Hi guys

I'm new to high definition video and have just aquired a Sony FX1. I know it is best to shoot in the HDV format and downconvert for standard editing, but how do I go about videoing my friends band in concert? Do I use the auto setting on the camera as I maybe moving around or should I use a tripod and use all the manual settings? Although I would like to plug the camera straight into the mixing desk for good sound, it's not always possable if your moving around. I'm cool with editing, but a little rusty as a cameraman

Any tips on the above would be most welcome
    Many Thanks

Johnny H

Hi Johnny ...

Yes, you should record in HDV and downconvert to SD on playback (there should be a law against recording in DV on an FX1 !!). Better still, edit in HDV with Prem Pro or Vegas and downconvert to SD in softwareif you can.

The problem with recording gigs is that the lighting is unpredictable and usually all over the place. Spotlights will tend to burn out faces unless you hit the backlight button which sometimes helps, or you switch the camera to manual. Controlling the exposure manually is not easy when the lighting is changing all the time and your on the move. Also with the FX1 you have to remember to set the shutter speed to a 50th, the gain to zero, and then adjust the iris until you can see the faces properly without burnout (the zebra setting helps). If you dont set iris/gain/shiiter speed to manual the FX1 will happily wind the shuuter speed or gain up and down while you twiddle the iris so you won't have full manual control. If you end up with the iris fully open and the image is still too dark then bring the gain up until you get the image you want.