Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Video overlay to TV problem.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default Video overlay to TV problem.

    Anyone know if the Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 will support sending a video overlay to a TV connected via the Svideo port?

    I'm having grief setting this up. It was sold to me as a 'dual head' card yet it only give me the option for 'single display' when I fire up the settings.

    I can send the desktop to the TV rather than to my monitor ok. But I want to send just the video overlay.

    Anyone any ideas?

    The NVidia site is less than helpful on the matter. i cannot find a table showing which cards support which function anywhere. All docs found so far simply say things like "if you have a card suporting muti monitors then click here".

    So then, anyone doen this with a Gefroce FX 5700? If so let me know what settings you use.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Now sorted!!

    Why oh why can't the Nvidia web site explain how to do this at all? Surely it's a common requirement.

    the reason why this was failing is that my single monitor was plugged intothe analogue port on the graphics card. If I connect it to the digital port then the video overlay just woke up automagically and it all works wihtno effort from me at all.

    Why is this so hard to document eh?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42
    Posts
    329

    Default

    Blame it on gamers, Nvidia and ATI's customers. They don't need analog video, except to capture their latest and greatest move.
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crusty
    Blame it on gamers,
    Yeah! String them all up!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Western Europe
    Posts
    3,409

    Default

    Yeah, us Nvidia owners are a bunch of rootin' tootin' horny toed varmints.

Similar Threads

  1. video overlay with moving backgrounds
    By may in forum Pinnacle Studio, Edition including Avid Xpress and Liquid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 10:00 PM
  2. Overlay one video on another, with shape/size motion?
    By rohan in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-16-2006, 12:34 PM
  3. Overlay audio onto video from different tapes
    By groovyhippo in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-2006, 12:10 AM
  4. Overlay picture in video (like newscast)
    By Cindy in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 02:48 PM
  5. NVidia GeForce3 ti200 and Video Overlay??
    By Alan Mills in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2004, 09:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •