Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New - Massive filesize, tiny length

Default New - Massive filesize, tiny length

I'm new to this whole sector. The only previous experience I have is creating a backup DVD to work on a DVD player.

But now I'm endeavouring to start something much bigger. I recenly bought Fahrenheit the game and noticing how movie-like the story is, I decided to make a movie out of it. I have Fraps to record it, that bit's sorted. But I need to edit the resulting AVI to get rid of the mistakes I've made and loading screens.
    I've been testing it out with the demo of Fahrenheit, recording it was easy and using 'Video Edit Magic 3' (If that means anything to anyone), editing was slightly harder (but better than I imagined). Using the editing software, I put the dimension to 640x480, the Vid compressor to DivX 6.0 Codec and Audio compressor to MPEG Layer-3 (I started to lose track around this point )
    I know this would take up a good 7 hours of play time, so I knew the quality wouldn't be very good. In the bitrate section of DivX, I put 7 hours and 3 1/3 of a DVD-R (that would take up all the disc, right?)
    Doing all this gave me an AVI at 85mb for 10 minute footage...that was OK.
    BUT, when I used the Boilsoft AVI to DVD Converter program...it cranked the size up to 741mb. That would take up quite a few DVDs to get 7 hours on it. I have no problem with using mulitple DVDs if I have to, but 741 MB for 10 minutes?! How do professionals cram decent lengthed movies AND special features onto DVDs when I can get around an hour's footage on mine?

Is there anything I can do to make the size smaller? An 85 AVI was OK, but for the size to shoot up like that? Maybe there's some other programs you could direct me to which'd make it easier?

Sorry if this seems confusing...maybe it's the fact I don't know what I'm talking about.