Thread: Capturing and editing frames from mpeg movies

Default Capturing and editing frames from mpeg movies

Hi

I am completely new to this and feel I am missing something entirely- I have spent today downloading software packages left and right in order to edit mpeg movies. I was, at the beginning of the day, quite enthusiastic about becoming proficient at editing and was looking forward to buying my first digital camcorder and hopefully getting quite serious. I therefore though I would dabble with some of the clips from my digital camera and edit them.
    However, although I can add to the software, I don't seem to be able to split into individual frames like here:
    http://computer.howstuffworks.com/video-editing5.htm

Although I couldn't get adobe premiere pro to work on either pc have tried Ulead studio 9 and Adobe after Effects though I know now that that is probably not needed.
    Do I need to convert it to DVD format and then edit it and then change it back? Sounds a bit long winded or should I get adobe premier 2.0 but not the pro version which didn't seem to work- maybe my pc's are too old.

Basically all I want to do is take out boring bits and then maybe loop more exiting bits to make them longer and piece together. I still don't think it should be that difficult and am therefore left thiking I am not cut out for it and should stop now. There is certainly far more to learn than I could ever imagine.
    Any help or tips on good articles to read or software or what I should be doing would be gratefully appreciated.

thanks

Tom
    useless but a quick learner

I'm guessing you mean you've downloaded the trial versions of programs with the intention to buy them :-P

Anyway, tell us the specs of your PC.

Hi