Thread: Exporting to DV problems

Default Exporting to DV problems

Hi everyone. I am having a problem exporting out of Adobe to my dv camera. I did a search of the forums and didn't find any solution so I figured I would ask the guru's themselves.

I am not sure what I am doing wrong. I have the footage on my computer in .avi format (640x480 resolution.) I am then bringing that footage into p6.0 and dropping it into the video 1a. I do the whole timeline preview thang in order to make the .avi work.

I then use the Export to Tape and have it export to a specific spot designated by the timecode. (Yes there is timecode on the dv tape I am trying to export to. )

It does the preroll and cues up to the correct part of the dv tape and then previews on the PC monitor just fine, but nothing goes on the dv tape?

Also I note that sometimes on the "program" side of the monitor windows there is a little white box with an x in it on the top left corner of the footage.

I am quite new to this whole video editing thing, so thanks in advance. Also let me know if I was unclear on anything and I will repost.

Default manual record

Hey,

What camera make/model are you using?

I use a SONY PC-120E and until PPro 7 came out, I had to do the following with P6.0/6.5:

1. Switch the camera to 'VCR' mode

2. Press the 'Record' button on the camera (not the 'Record' button you use when you record in 'Camera' mode)

3. Sit back and relax!

P6.0/6.5 didn't have the correct DV controllers for my camera model, so I had to press 'record' manually on the camera to 'export to tape'.

I'm assuming your camera has DV->IN, right? It is capable of recording from firewire?

dVdA

You mentioned a box with an "X" in it. Have you rendered your movie? If you haven't, there should be a red line above any section of your movie in the timeline that needs to be rendered. I also thought that DV format is 720X480?