Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dvd capture

  1. Default Dvd capture

    Hello there. As part of something im working on at the moment using pinnacle, i need to take segments of footage from a DVD and convert them to AVI. When i use my decrypter the files go onto my computer as VOB files. This is no good for using in pinnacle as far as i can see. Does anyone know what software i should use to create these AVI files from my DVD? Anyone got experience of this? Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Bristol uk
    Blog Entries


    Try renaming the file extension to .avi or dot .mpg

  3. Default

    Yes, it worked. So simple yet so good. Thanks once again. Only one small problem now. Its a concert and its divided into 4 parts of VOB's so this will mean one part ending half way through a song etc etc. Any ideas? Dont worry if it's too complicated. Thanks.

  4. Default

    I just tried to add the files to my project as .avi but it wont allow me to do it. Where am i going wrong? Along with the VOB files there were a few BUP and IFO files if that helps.

    The avi files wont even play with media player either?

    Edit - it now works as an mpeg. Thanks.

    Later edit - it wont work as an mpeg either.

    Even later edit - Is there a piece of software that will rip from dvd to .avi from the start? That would be much simpler.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Western Europe


    I've done the vob to avi conversion aswell and thankfully it worked for me. Some app's such as Adobe Premiere won't open mpeg files so your stuck with the avi's. I can't remember if the bup file or ifo needs to be in the same folder as the video files (vob->avi), I think I just double clicked on it or maybe I didn't (try both and see how you get on).

  6. Default

    Thanks for the info. I'll see how i get on.

Similar Threads

  1. Premier Pro Capture with ATI Rage Theater Video Capture card
    By Nolubez in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2006, 07:37 PM
  2. Blank capture window, but capture ok
    By Incitatus in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-29-2005, 09:19 AM
  3. My video capture process is locked - can't capture
    By Lance2004 in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2004, 11:20 PM
  4. How do i capture my pc-screen using a video-capture-card?
    By hagbard in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-04-2003, 11:12 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts