Thread: right/wrong lead or software - no audio captured

Default right/wrong lead or software - no audio captured

Hi, I'm a first time video editor and need some help please.

I have an old Panasonic VHS-C camcorder (PAL) and want to transfer the video to my hard drive, edit and then eventually copy it to DVD or VCD. I've just picked up a second hand Belkin DVD Creator which I believe is generically termed a video to analogue converter.

The Belkin lead has a yellow composite? phono socket and an S video socket at one end a USB at the other.

The camcorder only has yellow and white phono sockets.

The p.c. doesn't have S video or phono.

After checking the myriad of leads available from retailers, some of whom had helpful notes, it appeared that I could use a single phono to phono lead to connect the camcorder to the Belkin capture device.
    My first attempts have colour picture but no sound.

Have I been a complete numpty and picked this up wrong? Do I need to use a yellow/white phono to s video or yellow/white phono to single phono lead.

Can someone clarify the single phono lead I'm using is fine (or not) or if this is a software issue (and if so how I might fix it)?

Western Europe

First things first, your camera is a low band analogue device. Therefore there is no S-Video connection on it so you can forget about using S-Video (much higher picture quality). Connect the lead with the yellow sockets (video) to your camera and then to the breakout box and run a lead from the audio out socket on your camera to the line in socket on your soundcard.

The audio out socket on your camera is phono but the audio line in socket on your soundcard is 3.5mm, so you'll need some kind of adapter plug. Then check the audio settings on your computer to make sure you are getting an audio 'feed' from the line in and not the microphone or anywhere else. I'd be grateful to know what the picture quality is like when you do transfer your footage to your computer and then onto DVD.