Thread: Good money after bad?

Default Good money after bad?

Hi there, I am new to editing, and am wondering if my computer is worth upgrading. I'm a little confused, as I remember editing videos (VHS) on a university computer in '99 that seemed to have little or no problems.

It is a low-profile IBM P4 1.8 Ghz with a 80 Gig hard disk and 768Mb RAM. I have been capturiong with a leadtek 200TV - a $50 US card.

I can't capture at all in MPEG2 due to darkness, and cannot convert files to that format. Even with MPEG1 it gets a bit choppy sometimes

a) Is it worth doubling my RAM, or should I be saving for a new comp?

b) Is there anything I can do to optimise things (I have no room in the case for a separate hard drive)?

c) Why won't me comp capture in MPEG 2 or convert to it without the whole picture going dark, or even black?

Thanks,

Michael

Not sure this helps you at all, but I'd say there was little wrong with your PC for video editing. I have a 2.0MHz processor and 512MB RAM, and don't experience any problems in capturing from miniDV, editing in Premiere Pro and outputting to DVD via Adobe Encore. And while I've subsequently invested in a second internal hard drive, that was mainly for capacity purposes, rather than performance - I didn't experience any issues with just one drive (although everyone on the forum will likely tell you I was lucky...) I guess what I'm saying is, you may need to look elsewhere other than your PC's specs to find out what your problem is.
    Premiere Pro, Encore, Photoshop, Ulead VS6, WXP Pro, Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 2 x 250GB SATA3 drives, 2 x 250GB USB 2 external drive, DVD writer, GeForce 7300 GS 256MB

The biggest fool can ask questions that the wisest man cannot answer...

I'm using a 1.7GHz P4, which is a bit annoyingly slow at times, but it's useable.

If you're going to upgrade anything, I suggest an additional hard drive. There is no such thing as too much HD space!

Default Chur