copyright free music
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Best computer system for professional TV video editing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Best computer system for professional TV video editing

    Hi,
    I am setting an editing panel for TV media video editing.

    I want to use Adobe Premiere Pro (Real time rendering support).

    My budget is $9000

    Please advice me for best hardware and if there is any better solution than Adobe Premiere Pro for software

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Just get a zippy pc, decent g card, lots of monitors and give me the 5000 dollars in change as a consultation fee.

    I found premier to be unstable and fussy when I tried it, but I didnt really try that hard.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Uhrichsville Ohio
    Posts
    237
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Lots and lost of harddisk space, and the top of the line intel processor.... an ati x1800xt graphics card would be awesome too (since prem pro 2 does rendering via the gpu!!!), oh and at least 2 gigs of ram if your going to be doing some real heavy projects!
    Mac G5 workstation with 4 gigs of ram, 4x250 gig drives in raid 5. High availability cluster server running centos for a server. 2xCanon GL2 cameras.

    TuscSports.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Even though I'm a fan of Adobe products and use them myself I am acutely aware of the fact that few (if any) 'real' proffessionals use Premiere Pro. Use of Premiere Pro, from what I can tell, pretty much stops at the 'Wedding Videographer' level of proffessional.

    I don't know why but experience tells me it is the case.

    If you're $9K serious then you might want to do some digging.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    1,893
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    If your company has money to piss away, get Apple stuff

    Get a Quad core powermac G5 with 4GB RAM, 2x500GB SATA HDDs, 256MB Geforce 6600, 30" Cinema Display, Airport & Bluetooth, wireless KB & mouse, 16xDL DVD Rewriter and Final Cut Studio.

    $8,831 on the Apple Store

    I'm not an apple fanboy (happily use a windows PC at home and a mac mini at work) but if someone gave me $9000 to spend (that I could only spend on one computer), I wouldn't waste it on a windows system

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I would not go with mac simply because premiere pro with adobe production studio works on pc a lot better.
    build your self a pc with quad cpu, a lot of hdd space, use ddr3 and least 2gb, good case that has a very good cooling capability, video card you can go with 8800 or quadro cards with 512Mb of ram, or use matrox rtx2, and dual monitors (2.5-3k), then add a production studio (1.6k) and you will be uder 7k, and if you want you can buy your self a bluray burner (.5k)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    ggmabaapbnebtrbatst

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    !!!!!!!!!! OMG !!!!!!!!! want.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yeebsy View Post
    Now to find some apps that support 8 cores hehe.

    Very neat stuff though

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Vegas uses 4 for sure - maybe more. Ahhh. I could have 2 versions running with one rendering flat out and the other still haveing a smmoooth time line - soon my son soon.....

Similar Threads

  1. Video Editing System
    By Marnath in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 07:20 AM
  2. Best computer system for Adobe Premiere Pro - Help please!
    By eastman123 in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2006, 05:42 PM
  3. Newbie: advice on Video/Editing system
    By channo in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-13-2005, 03:13 PM
  4. High spec PC based video editing system
    By mitsimic in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-28-2005, 04:33 PM
  5. Hardware Advice for First Video Editing System...
    By Pedro in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-14-2004, 02:02 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •