Hi Everyone

I have tinkered with Premiere in the past to create web streaming video, but essentially this is my first time getting into video editing and DVD creation. I have done a lot of reading on forums but as a relative newcomer I need some advice on hardware. Hope you can help out.

Here’s my system setup as it stands:-

O/S: Windows XP Pro SP1
Software: Adobe Premiere Pro
CPU: Pentium4 2.8Ghz 800FSB
RAM: 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR
Motherboard: Intel D865PERL
O/S Drive: IBM 30GB 7200 IDE ATA
A/V Drive: SAMSUNG 160GB 7200 SATA
Philips DVD+RW
Iiyama Vision Master Pro 17” CRT
Soundcard: onboard but willing to upgrade to quality card depending on needs.
Videocard: antique STB card. Willing to upgrade depending on needs.
I don’t have a camcorder.
I don’t have a firewire card.
I have an excellent Panasonic Flatscreeen 21” TV with SCART in (rear) and AV inputs on the front - Composite Video and L&R Audio( all RCA)

I will be using the Video Editing PC for two reasons:-

1. To create DVD’s from video footage recorded on the hard disk of my set-top PVR. This will be an ongoing thing. My PVR has the following outputs:-

• SCART
• S video (DIN)
• Composite Video (RCA)
• L&R Audio (RCA)
• Optical Digital Audio.

I don’t think I can take footage straight from the hard disk to my PC so for now please assume I will be taking it from one of the outputs listed.

2. To create DVD’s from my old VHS and SVHS tapes. This will be a one off process just to get through my back catalogue of tapes. My VHS machine has the following outputs:-

• SCART

At this stage I don’t want to buy a dedicated capture card for real-time effects. I just want to get my analogue video into the PC to edit with Premiere Pro.

Question: Premiere Pro is touted to offer real-time effects without the need to render Or the need to use a dedicated capture card (e.g.. Raptor). Is this true?