Thread: Total Newb seeks advice...

Default Total Newb seeks advice...

Hi all,

The title sums it up I guess but I have questions about both hardware & editing software. Any advice would be much appreciated.

I've been making 3-5 minute promotional type videos for work for several months (but at home cause I like doing it so much) with Windows Movie Maker and want to upgrade to a better editing software and possibly computer. But I also want to start bigger/longer projects of my own eventually so whatever upgrades I make I'd like for them to be able to handle more than the short promo videos.

Currently have:
    Dell Pent. 4
    512 MB
    128 MB DDR graphics card
    80 GB ATA Hard Drive
    1 Monitor

I started to get an Imac and Final Cut Express but now I'm wondering if I could be just as well off with some upgrades to my system (doubling the RAM for starters) and either getting Pinnacle or Premiere or something.

Thanks for reading, any adive would be very appreciated!

maybe you could double the ram, but a gig is a dime a dozen now, and if you want to get into some real serious projects, go with 2 gigs, and at least 250 gigs of HD space, and make sure your processor is at least 3.0 ghz, with HT (hyperthreading), this is good because most new editing programs will use the dual strands of binary to their advantage (i.e. premiere) no need to update your graphics card, unless you go with premiere pro 2.0, because it has this awesome new feature, using your GPU to render (how sweet it is).....
    Mac G5 workstation with 4 gigs of ram, 4x250 gig drives in raid 5. High availability cluster server running centos for a server. 2xCanon GL2 cameras.

TuscSports.com

Thanks for the advice!

In that case, I'll probably just need to start fresh with a new machine...I don't even think I can upgrade to over 160 GB HD in this one. (And that would even have to be external)