Thread: Zoom on still picture

Default Zoom on still picture

Hi guys,
    i was wondering how you have to zoom in on a still image in premiere 6.5 (i know, old version, but that's what we're using at school)

I know it's with the MOTION tool, but the problem is premiere seems to be resizing my original jpg image (1200x675) to the project size (720x405) which results in an ugly pixeled image when i zoom :(

is there any way to bypass this resizing? I really need to get this job done before monday....

I can't answer for premiere 6.5 as i use 1.5 but maybe its the same.
    In the preferences you need to unclick the "resize stills" checkbox.
    Then when you drag the photos into the timeline they remain full size. In the monitor window you can zoom out to 25% which should allow you to see the photo over the video window.
    (Mind you i'm a total newbie to this so could be wrong!)

hmm, no preference like that in 6.5...:(

anybody else have a solution?
    I need to give in that movie tomorrow...

so ANY help would be very welcome

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

To zoom a clip in Premiere 6.5
    1. Add clip to timeline.
    2. Selectt he clip in the timeline.
    3. open the effects control pallette. Click Setup and up pops the motion settings dialogue.
    4. Change the zoom value.

jep, same way in 6.5, but the problem is that when it zooms the picture gets all pixeld and blown up...even if my original images are like twice the size of my project in premiere...

Bracknell, Berkshire, UK

oops. I meant 6.5 sorry. I tend to talk more about Premier Pro 1.5 nowadays and my fingers types on their own.

Right, as for the image getting pixellated. It's probably because you are already seeing as much detail as the picture holds. If you take a picture that has dimensions 100x100 and zoom it to a new image 200x200 then where does the extra detail come from? It doesn't! Digital zooming cause pixellation as you've noticed.