Thread: Encore

Default Encore

Hi all,
    I'm new to video editing and really enjoying premier pro 1.5.
    My question relates to dvd building in encore (is this the right forum?)
    Anyway - is it better to export the premier project as a whole for importing to encore, or would it be better to export each sequence separately?
    Also - when encoding (exporting) from premier, which codec is better - avi or quicktime?
    Thanks

notm!lk

I'm assuming that if you are using Premiere Pro 1.5 then you have Encore version 1 or 1.5.

The thing to remember in these version of Encore is that a timeline in Encore can only be a single video clip. This changes in v2. So basically, it will depend on the design and flow of your DVD.

What you can do though in Encore is have one timeline play directly following another. This maybe noticable by the watcher though and is not recommended for individual chatpers of a movie.

As for exporting from premiere pro. Assuming it's for Encore then I wasn't aware Encore could handle .MOV files so you should export as either AVI or MPEG2 (with accompanying .WAV for sound) and use these in Encore. Which of these is better? Either really. I tend to export from premiere in MPEG2 when I can for two reasons. I have a plugin which allows me (on occasion) to export to MPEG2 much much quicker than AVI and also, AVI timeoines in Encore do not preview in widescreen properly - which doesn't make any real difference. It just bugs me a little. but having said all that, there is an obscure bug in the Adobe media encoder that effects me specifically (using high def) and the work around is to export as AVI rather than MPEG2 solately I'm tending to do the latter.

I don't know if this helps much. Let us know a little about the design of your DVD and maybe I/we can advise further.

I am using encore 1.5 yes.
    The film i made is of my daughter - her 1st three months.
    The film is about 20 minutes long in two sequences.