Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Overlaying a title

  1. #1

    Default Overlaying a title

    Hello,could anyone help. I'm trying to do a title in premier pro, where it sits behind whats happening. Eg a busy street with people walking along,I want to make a title but behind the people,not in front. Hope this makes sense. I have got prem pro and photoshop. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    You mean the way I did at 1min 13sec of www.alandmills.co.uk/Final_Hit.wmv ???? (sorry just coudn't resist the extra plug)

    In the title sequence I walk across the screen in front of the overliad title. So I have some of the title in front of the background video and soem behind me.

    Be warned it can take an age to do so best to keep it short and sweet as you will have to rotoscope it in Photoshop as follows:

    Export the clip (as small as possible) as either a series of stills or as .flm file.

    Open each still of the FLM file in Photoshop.

    Now overlay your graphic (being very vareful to make sure it's position is exactly the same in each frame. Make sure this graphic is on a new layer in PS.

    then simply mask off the relevant bit of the graphic/title by either painting with the eraser or by painting a mask.

    I find the easiest way of doing this is the lower the opacity of the graphic to a bit less than 50% soyou can see the video frame through it. Then you canmake sure you only remove what you need to.

    Aftre you're done raise the opacity back up again.

    Save regularly as PSD files and only convert back to individual stills or a .flm at the end.

    Simply re-import into Premiere and add to the timeline.

    it's easy enough, but doing it frame by frame, just takes ages.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks alot,i'm gonna try it soon as possible.

  4. #4

    Default

    Hello,
    having a bit of trouble trying to compress my clips into a flm file. Any tips. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by division
    Hello,
    having a bit of trouble trying to compress my clips into a flm file. Any tips. Thanks.
    File -> Export -> Movie...

    When the dialogue pops up click 'settings' and open the 'file type' pull down. Filmstrip is in that list.

    But do play with the other still image options like tiff though. the difference is that a flm file is one large image containing all frames and this gets very large. If you choose tiff, you get many individual frames which canbe easier to work with.

Similar Threads

  1. Title help
    By Buz in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2007, 11:48 PM
  2. How to add overlaying images to video and make them gradually slide across TheScreen
    By KoR_Wraith in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2006, 04:42 PM
  3. overlaying a still image in Vegas?
    By Bansaw in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-22-2006, 03:31 PM
  4. Title program
    By kristovao in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2005, 09:34 PM
  5. holiday title
    By SHUTSTER in forum User Videos
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-07-2004, 09:00 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •