Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: firewire AND capture card...?!?!?!?

  1. #1

    Default firewire AND capture card...?!?!?!?

    i am lost at what to do, im not the richest kid on the block, so starting my own workspace isnt going to be easy. but i had plans to buy adobe premiere pro, but i need a way to capture from my school miniDV camcorders. I figure buying a firewire would be the cheapest way but i asked my teacher and he wasnt sure if i could do it without a capture card as well. So if i get a firewire card in my PCI slot, i would also need a capture card (additional 200 bux)...please somebody help me!?!?

  2. #2

    Default

    All you'll need to capture and edit with premier is an OHCI compliant firewire card and a reasonably fast computer (fast HDD, fast CPU, plenty of RAM).

    tonga

  3. #3

    Default

    okay thanx alot =)

  4. Default

    i didnt even have to buy one because my soundblaster card had a firewire slot in it too, i was like sweeeeetttt

  5. #5

    Default

    sweet! but i see all these capture card listings for adobe premiere pro...does any firecard work? im so happy i dont have to buy a capture card tho, that saves me so much money!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    My PC is about two and half years old and only had USB1.1 ports in it.

    For video capture I knew I would need both firewire for my new MiniDV caqmcorder and also a USB2 port for capturing (and allowing me to remaster) all my old VHS home movies. I only had a single PCI slot free and found a nice ( and cheap) dual card from DABS.com for about 18. Didn't break the bank and has two or three (on has two the other has three - can't remember offhand whcih way around it is) of each of Firewire and USB2 ports.

    Works fine with both my Dazzle Fusion (analogue capture through USB2) and my new Sony TRV33E through firewire.

Similar Threads

  1. Firewire card
    By gerrya in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-30-2006, 04:20 PM
  2. Do I need a capture card, or can I just import via firewire?
    By knowyouremeny in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 01:22 AM
  3. Capture Card vs firewire on the board
    By Chrisdoc in forum The Perfect Video Editing PC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-22-2005, 12:41 PM
  4. Firewire card problems
    By Phlibbit in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2004, 05:59 PM
  5. Premier 6.5 and proper firewire capture card?
    By DJP in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-11-2004, 08:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •