Thread: Radio mikes, value v performance.

Blog Entries

Default Radio mikes, value v performance.

I want a set of on camera protable radio gear. Preferably with xlrs for mic in. My question is how low can you go befor they are rubbish. Any people would particularly reccomend?

Blog Entries

I've heard that the Sennheiser EW100 ENG kits are excellent value for money.

http://www.sennheiser.co.uk/uk/icm.nsf/root/21418

A new set from LTF costs about 670 quid. I know that some of the owner/operator teams use them and my regular soundie has a kit which he bought as a back-up, all of which sounds promissing,

I have no experience of them myself, since at work we tend to use the old (mega-f..ing-expensive) Sennheiser 5000 system which is luverly but is way out of my private bracket.
    If you manage to use the EW100 in the field, let me know what it's like!

Blog Entries

Ta, hoping for some spare cash next month. I was hoping to spend a tad less, will check em put and look for s/h deals.

Blog Entries

Looks nice. I presume the plug on transmitter will plug directly into the back of my shotgun mic, if so that is very cool. I think I feel a purchase approaching....

Blog Entries

I know, I really, really, really want to buy a EW100 ENG kit, but just can't justify it.
    A good company for sound stuff is LTF near Uxbridge, Middlesex.

www.ltf-uk.com

And they sometimes have excellent second-hand stock. I keep meaning to get an SQN from them, but that's also a "want-to-have" rather than a "need-to-have".

I've got a couple of excellent microphones and all the gubbins for one end of the sound chain, at the other end I can blag cameras, but I've got these voices in my head... It's a sound mixer, wireless kit and a hard-drive recorder shouting at me to buy them...

Blog Entries

Thanks for that, what is an SQN?

Blog Entries