Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Capturing at 640x480!

  1. #1

    Default Capturing at 640x480!

    Is there any way to make the computer capture at higher than 640x480? I'm using firewire, capturing on premiere elements (i've tried basic programs too for capture) and the highest I can get is 640x480. Thats pretty small, especially since I'm going to edit it, and put it onto a DVD. It'll obviously blur when played on a full size TV when it blurs when maximized on a computer screen! Is there any way to force it to import capture higher than 640x480 without sacrificing quality by 'blowing it up in size'? Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Kansas City, Missouri, USA, Earth, Sol, Milky Way, Local Group, Universe 42


    640x480 is fine. Most ordinary TV sets have about 400x300 resolution, or less. Give it a try and see?
    Fav quote - "Experience is whatcha don't get 'till ya don't need it no more."

    System - Athlon 1.4GHz, Win98, Hauppauge PVR250 receiver and compressor.
    Software -Magix Movie Edit Pro 10, Nero 6 + NeroVision Express, Moho 4.61, PSP 8.1, Bryce, Quicktime 6.52 pro, Goldwave 5, DVD-Lab.
    Cameras - Panasonic GS9, Canon ES8400V, Canon EOS D20 and Canon A70

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005


    Why capture in a non-standard resolution?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Bristol uk
    Blog Entries


    Personally, I aim to keep all my work as best quality as I can regardless of the final output medium or compression. I would be very unhappy to do anything else, after all most tellies are crap, but not all and they are getting better very fast.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Manchester, UK


    You should always, always capture in 720x576 (PAL) or 720x480 (NTSC)

    What are you capturing from?

Similar Threads

  1. Converting Quicktime 30 FPS 640x480 to DVD MPEG 2 - 25 FPS PAL
    By kornovol in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2006, 03:26 PM
  2. Capturing from VCR
    By San_Miguel in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2006, 08:03 PM
  3. capturing
    By gboone in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2005, 08:37 AM
    By BROWNERS in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 03:27 PM
  5. get letterboxs onto 640x480 clips ?
    By dilusion in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2004, 06:42 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts