Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Avi uploading

  1. #1

    Default Avi uploading

    I have a Panasonic NVGS-17 and when I upload using WMM or the software that came with the camera (ArcSoft Video Impression 1.6) as avi files, the video like slows down and speeds up and the audio goes all out of sync...what is causing this? I am using a usb cable.

    Also, how do I upload as the same quality when I plug the camera straight into the tv?

    I have been editing/filming bmx for a while, just decided now to try and get some rad quality out of it, sorry if this stuff is stupid.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default

    I'm pretty certain this is all down tothe fact that you are doing your video transfers via the USB link. Always use the firewire to tranfer your video from a MiniDV camcorder.

    f)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brighton UK
    Posts
    9

    Default Another stupid question

    Hi, new to the forum and its a lifesaver hopefully when I know what I am talking about I can give some advise.

    In the meantime I use a usb link from my jvc dv to my laptop.

    What is a firewire and how is it better than usb???

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    5,191

    Default Re: Another stupid question

    Quote Originally Posted by karlb
    Hi, new to the forum and its a lifesaver hopefully when I know what I am talking about I can give some advise.
    and very welcome here you are.

    Quote Originally Posted by karlb
    In the meantime I use a usb link from my jvc dv to my laptop.
    Don't!

    Quote Originally Posted by karlb
    What is a firewire and how is it better than usb???
    Firewire is another type of connection used to connect cameras, hard drives and other stuff to your PC for data transfers. Similar in that respect to USB.

    It differs in that it actually works for video transfer. Well, that's the bottom line here. I'm sure others will give the formal techy reasons why this is so but rest assured, it is the case.

    What's curious and likely a contriobuting factor as to why newcomers make this mistake is that camcorder kits often come with software for video transfer and editing and they also supply a USB lead. If you throw the USB lead away, it'll be a good enough start. Make sure you have a firewire port on your PC and buyh a cheapo firewire lead to connect your camera to the PC and use that. You'll see all the difference in the world.

    Remember that day when, after years opf watching VHS tapes, you saw the difference in picture (and sound) quality of a DVD. The difference between transfers made using USB and firewire are pretty much in thios proportions.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brighton UK
    Posts
    9

    Default Why oh why

    Perfect just bloody perfect why is nothing straight forward. My laptop does not have a firewire port. Installing that can only mean something else that can go wrong !!!

    Thanks for your help and advice Alan, its apprecaited.

    Karl

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    PCMCIA firewire upgrade cards are available for laptops Karl.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brighton UK
    Posts
    9

    Default found it !!

    There is a god. I have found a 4 pin 1394 connector on my laptop. Hooray. Does that mean all I need is a lead from this port to my JVC DV? How do I know the 1394 port is up and running?

    Thanks
    Karl

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    As soon as you plug in the camera, Windows will automatically detect it and let you know.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Brighton UK
    Posts
    9

    Default one more

    Sorry, one more question.

    When I plug in the dv to the usb port to capture video files I have to use the software I loaded that came with the dv. If I try to use another dvd software program and click on capture it will not let me, why is that? Do I need to use the software that came with my dv?

    Thank you
    Karl

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Karl.... THROW AWAY THE USB! I would expect only the software supplied with it to work with it, and as you've heard, Firewire is your only way forward. The other software you're referring to is most likely looking for that firewire connection.

    f)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Uploading help.
    By TWIY in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2007, 03:17 PM
  2. Problems uploading
    By JTred in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-26-2006, 04:43 PM
  3. I need help uploading to youtube
    By flashflare in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-28-2006, 09:38 AM
  4. Uploading
    By wilburguy12w in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2005, 07:07 AM
  5. video uploading
    By wilburguy12w in forum User Videos
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 07-27-2005, 06:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •