Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Analogue video editing problems-Prem 6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004

    Default Analogue video editing problems-Prem 6

    after taking my computer to a shop to sort out all my audio problems, i now have a video problem. I changed some of the settings to stop dropping frames in capture, god knows what has happened but now i can't get a picture on my capture screen let alone audio, which i could in the past.

    I find the project settings window extremely confusing. If some body could just tell me the best set up for analogue capture then i should be on my way. Should it be DV PAL, PAL for WINDOWS....?etc

    Then when i try and customise these settings to stop dropped frames, there seems to be conflictions in the project settings window which i can't resolve. I'm not sure which compressor i should use-capture settings say n/a, but project settings say cinepak codec by radius-I can't change the capture to match the project settings. Not sure which frame rate to use-in our television company we always use 24fps. And finally the quality needs to be dropped to stop the dropping of frames-I can change the quality setting in projects setting, but again not in capture.

    Please help me, any ideas would be greatly appreciated as i am on a very tight deadline!!!

    Many thanks for reading this, Mike


    Windows XP 2002
    Intel Pentium 4 CPU-2.8GHZ
    256 MB RAM
    AverDVD EZMaker WDM Capture card

    Programme-Premier 6

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Uhrichsville Ohio


    about the analouge capture, i have a sony vaio that has 2 rca, 2 s-video capture cards, and i could never figure out how to use premiere to use them, so i had to use the included program!, not to take over the thread, but i sure would like to know how!!!
    Mac G5 workstation with 4 gigs of ram, 4x250 gig drives in raid 5. High availability cluster server running centos for a server. 2xCanon GL2 cameras.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005

    Default Re: Analogue video editing problems-Prem 6

    Mike, dropping frames may be the fault of your cheap capture card and/or insufficient RAM. Make sure you have the latest WDM drivers, try lowering the capture resolution and bitrate or better yet, invest in a real capture card and at least 512 megs of RAM.
    PAL Video for Windows, 720x576, framerate: 25 fps. These should be your capture settings.
    Capture Uncompressed AVI if you plan to edit (it'll take some 45 gigs for an hour!).

Similar Threads

  1. Prem Pro Capture problems....
    By argento in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2006, 01:20 AM
  2. Capturing Analogue 8mm Video onto a PC for editing
    By RiW in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-14-2005, 08:06 PM
  3. Getting analogue video onto my computer for editing
    By lthrift in forum General video editing software help and advice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2005, 11:37 AM
  4. Problems encoding to MPEG 4 with Prem Pro 1.5
    By andymcrae in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-19-2005, 05:58 PM
  5. sonic mydvd analogue problems
    By in forum Blu Ray, DVD, SVCD and VCD authoring
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2004, 12:12 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts