Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Vegas 6 External monitor

  1. #1

    Default Vegas 6 External monitor

    I was wondering if it would be possible to connect a camcorder to ur computer with firewire and then the camera to a monitor with a/v plugs and use it as a external monitor?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Vegas 6 supports an external monitor via firewire. For your specific question it will be down to your camera, in as much as sometimes, plugging into one socket disables the others. Give it a try and see.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Hey, that is an excellent idea. For ages I have wanted a proper external monitor but that f wire to video box is yet to be found cheap but cameras I have a plenty.... ACE.

  4. #4

    Default

    Yep works great, i need a better A/V cord though, my dog got a hold of mine :( so i get no audio and some lines going through my picture. Did it work for you Zaskar?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Bristol uk
    Posts
    8,938
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Not tried it out yet, will let you know. Just need to mke space on my crammed desk.

    http://www.zaskarfilms.com/images/my...nitorsgood.jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Warsop, Nottinghamshire.
    Posts
    4,465
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I just gave it a try and it works perfectly.

  7. Default

    Works fine. This is actually how I used to have it setup. I have 2 digital camcorders. I had one of the camcorders connected to my PC via Firewire and then the SVHS connection on the camcorder (configured as OUT) connected to a TV monitor. Now, after I purchased the Canopus ADVC300 I use it pretty much the same way.

Similar Threads

  1. External Preview Monitor Line-Up.
    By vegasarian in forum Sony Vegas video editing apps
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 07:43 PM
  2. Preview on External Monitor
    By superkopite in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-28-2006, 09:52 AM
  3. Using a TV as and external monitor?
    By lorngus in forum Hardware Problems
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-21-2006, 08:06 AM
  4. AE 6.5 external Monitor Preview problems
    By Scratch in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-26-2005, 08:38 PM
  5. External Monitor
    By kristovao in forum Adobe Premiere, Premiere Elements, and After Effects
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2005, 03:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •